The Defense Innovation Board, an independent federal advisory committee, holds a public meeting at the Johns Hopkins University’s Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, Washington, D.C., Oct. 10, 2018. Pictured, from left, are board members Mark Sirangelo, Milo Medin, Jennifer Pahlka, Eric Lander, Marne Levine, Eric Schmidt, J. Michael McQuade, Missy Cummings, Richard Murray, and Adam Grant. (DOD photo by Lisa Ferdinando)